St. Paul’s Cathedral

What an epic building and experience. I feel like I need to preface this experience by explaining that I come from a small town that is the same age as London’s tube system. The oldest building is a tiney wooden Bastian.  The tallest building is a functional but rather unappealing 16 floor apartment building.
There are a handful of oldish churches but nothing, I assure you absolutely nothing as astounding as St Paul’s.  Just walking past the structure a few days before i had planned to go in, gave me a sense of anxiety.
I approached from an awkward side and passed through this little garden…

image

The bricks…

image

And looking up…

image

I took alot of pictures at St Paul’s. Too many for one post. I did go all the way to the top…

image

By the time I was done I was exhausted but I could have gone to the clock tower too

image

Maybe on another visit…

image

image

I can’t even beleive how huge this building is. 
I followed the rules out of respect and didn’t take any pictures inside.
Definitely a place I would like to return to. 
The crypt I would avoid next time tho.

I will admit to spending my first few minutes in the small chapel praying for world peace. What else does one do in a church that has seen so many prayers already.

image

About Epic Wynn

Artist, Massage Therapist, Fledgling Blogger
This entry was posted in London, pictures and words, spirit and prayer, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St. Paul’s Cathedral

  1. MaitoMike says:

    Great post. Those photos alone look epic, but I know they don’t come close to capturing how epic it is to stand there marveling at its grandeur.

    Like

Leave a Reply

