What September Brings

Alright so summer is over and the kids are back to school…well they would be if the bc liberals wanted them to learn.
So I’m sitting at work less busy because people need to take care of their kids. Even after the strike is over people are going to be seriously strapped for cash. Unless you’re like someone I know who happens to be off work anyway with an injury. Either way this is going to be  a rough ride for alot of people.

My dad taught highschool french for 40 years. You can guess what that means about how I feel. Both my parents were teachers. My grandfather was a teacher. I have aunts and uncles who are teachers I have cousins who are teachers too.

I come from a family of educators. I love learning. Personally I hated school because the system is set up  for people who fit into the middle of the spectrum and I’m outside what’s  considered normal.

The idea that our system is failing students when it isn’t striking is a problem unto itself. Well that is why the teachers are striking.

The fact that the government has so brutally and openly violated not just the rights of the teachers who work so hard but the students being kept out of classrooms because the government doesn’t want to spend money on the teachers or the kids. 

What do you even say to that?

I’m so angry.
And so worried about the kids that are missing out on their education.
Not just that, but the progress and reform we should be making so that the system can stop failing the kids like me who fall outside what’s considered normal.

I want so much more for the human race…

image

About Epic Wynn

Artist, Massage Therapist, Fledgling Blogger
This entry was posted in culture, random photo with a quick blurb, vancouver and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

