Race…its everyone’s problem

I used to think it wasn’t my problem. Racial tensions in America.  Because I’m Canadian. Because I’m neither black nor white. Then I realized I’m one of the few people who has perspectives from all sides. I’m mixed race. My dad is decedent from slaves and Chinese immigrants.  My mother from French, Polish and Scottish immigrants. I know their stories and I carry their bloodlines.
I’m here to tell you it’s your problem too. If you don’t know what to say in the face of racism I am here to tell you that with out a doubt saying nothing is by far worse than potentially saying the wrong thing. If you say something you open yourself to a dialogue where you just may learn something. You may *gasp* become enlightened to the plight of your neighbor who is different from you. And that my dear would make you a better person I guarantee it.
If you continue to say nothing you mark yourselves among those who claim it is not their problem. Who claim they don’t need to prove they’re not racist. Well I’m telling you now. Yes you do. You need to prove you stand with us. You need too prove you accept us. Not just the blacks freed from slavery but the men women and children coming to north America fleeing social injustice. Fleeing places that would see them murdered for their religion or kidnapped for their gender or their innocence.  You’ve got to stand and defend this so called land of the free home of the true north strong.
If you don’t you will be counted among the ones who hide it the dark plotting against your immigrant neighbor or your black aquaintance that you’re friendly with but don’t know how to relate to because you know you’re different and that’s all you see. I assure you. There is some kind of similarity somewhere you just need to find it.

So stand up. Its not just black and white. Its not white and Chinese or red and yellow. Its not just white and Arab.  Its all colours. Its all cultures. Its acceptance for everyone. 

About Epic Wynn

Artist, Massage Therapist, Fledgling Blogger
This entry was posted in culture, ethnicity, evolution, race, spirit and prayer, womens issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

